What do youl think of this machine configuration

Discuss laser machine here freely.

Moderator: baker

000qeool

What do youl think of this machine configuration

Post by 000qeool »

I am an experienced 3d printer operator looking to break into laser cutting. I would like cut small pieces of thin (0.008" or .2mm) stainless steel.

To do this, I'd like to mount a 80w co2 laser horizontally and keep it stationary, while moving the workpieces into the laser. Here's a simple sketch:
1ERpuzF.jpg
1ERpuzF.jpg (3.36 KiB) Viewed 3106 times
My main question is:
If I pre-heat the stainless steel to red heat, will I be able to cut it with a 80w laser using compressed air as the assist gas?

And also:
Will the cut quality suffer due to the workpiece being vertical?

Any other comments about this setup are greatly appreciated.
Thank you all for your time

Edit: This machine would cut business cards. It would then drop them into another process while picking up another blank. This is the main reason for the vertical configuration.
Harveyhymn

Re: What do youl think of this machine configuration

Post by Harveyhymn »

Harveyhymn
LikNony

Post by LikNony »

What are the advantages you foresee to mounting it in this configuration? One disadvantage I can think of is more susceptibility to vibration especially from the jerky motion of stepper motors.

I think your advantage is mostly the ability to work on much larger pieces without taking up valuable floor space. That is a noble goal and I have been knocking around an idea to make a vertical CNC router for exactly this reason.